reach for the stars.

by Lucy Anne Lawton 
1069235_10200739770554968_1964965278_n

I was born to write.

Nothing gives me more satisfaction than expressing myself in the written form of language.

I have invisible mental health problems, which on first impressions you would never know. Health professionals diagnose this as ‘Generalised Anxiety Disorder’ and ‘Post Traumatic Stress Disorder.’

I know the cause of my problems. I disengage myself from traumatic situations and try to  block them out of my memory, resulting in a build up of stress, worry, panic and fear. I constantly feel agitated and find it virtually impossible to relax. I am wary of everyone I meet, I panic in queue’s and avoid certain social situations. I know I am not alone, as many as 1 in 20 adults suffer Generalised Anxiety Disorder GAD in Britain .

The problem is, nobody talks about it. We know we are not alone, so why do we suffer in silence? I have family, great friends, colleagues and fellow students who would happily listen to me in my time of need. Yet I struggle to express exactly what it is that is bothering me; and carry on regardless in life’s routine structured concept of time – clock watching until my next call of duty; as a mother, a student, an employee, a housewife. The many roles I take on distract me from coming to terms with the issues I have going on inside my head.

Writing is my therapy.

I sit behind the screen and pour my heart into Microsoft Word with no interruptions, no eyes upon me, no fear of failure. I can truly be me. I want to become a world famous author. I actually believe it was meant for me. And even if my writing doesn’t get any credit in this life I believe it will in another, because texts are timeless, and I have passion. I will never give up on my dreams no matter how far fetched they appear to be. Life may have sucked me in to its rigmarole of work; spinning on the hamster wheel in the repetitive cycle of days, weeks, months and years…But I have found my outlet, my one true love and my method of release. And I’m going to reach for the stars.

Cora Magazine are working in conjunction with Green People Organic Skincare to promote the benefits of organic beauty products. To celebrate, we are giving away THREE sets of Green People’s Skin Essentials package. To enter, click here.

Leave a Reply

